Marcos Molina

The New York Mets today announced that RHP Marcos Molina has been named the Sterling Award winner for the 2014 Brooklyn Cyclones.

The righty started 12 games, posting a 7-3 record, finishing with an ERA of 1.77. He gave up 18 walks while striking out 91. His WHIP was 0.838. He averaged 10.7 strikeouts per 9 innings pitched. He started the 2014 NYPL All Star Game at MCU Park.

On a related note, Cyclones CF John Mora won the Sterling Award for the GCL Mets this season.

Here are the winners throughout the organization. Players in BOLD indicate former Cyclones

Sterling Player of the Year – 2B Dilson Herrera
Sterling Pitcher of the Year – LHP Steven Matz

Triple-A: IF Matt Reynolds
Double-A: C Kevin Plawecki
Advanced Single-A: OF Brandon Nimmo
Single-A: LHP Dario Alvarez & RHP Akeel Morris
Short-season Single-A: RHP Marcos Molina
Rookie – Appalachian League: OF Vicente Lupo
Rookie – Gulf Coast League: OF John Mora


About Daniel S. Weiss

I have been an avid Cyclones fan since 2001. In December of 2013 I decided to launch my own blog "Brooklyn Baseball Banter" to cover the Brooklyn Cyclones.

One response »

  1. […] Molina, who won the 2014 Sterling Award, is on the roster, as well as 2015 pitchers Chris Flexen & Blake Taylor. Cameron Griffin, who […]

    Liked by 1 person

Get your opinion in!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s